The Quotes of the Week IX

Sunday 27th

“I’m just lucky enough to be employed in this business and get good parts still. I just want another good job. To be in a hit though has been really refreshing; I have enjoyed being in a hit because there have been so many films I’ve been in which about 3.2 people have seen.

It’s fantastic that so many people get such patent pleasure, and all ages. Usually when I see someone coming towards me with great enthusiasm, I can put them into which film they’re launching towards, you know, either Fight Club or maybe. With The King’s Speech I get eight year olds coming up and saying ‘I loved it’, and 88 year olds. It’s the fact that it’s got such a wide appeal to every nationality and every age, every culture. It’s quite extraordinary.”

Actress Helena Bonham Carter speaking about her part in The King’s Speech and her subsequent Oscar nomination for Best Actress in a Supporting Role, one of 11 nominations the film has received

Monday 28th

“In any fostering case the interests of the 60,000 children in care should override the bias of any prospective parent. Thankfully, Mr and Mrs Johns’s out-dated views aren’t just out of step with the majority of people in modern Britain, but those of many Christians too. If you wish to be involved in the delivery of a public service, you should be prepared to provide it fairly to anyone.”

Ben Summerskill, chief executive of the lesbian, gay and bisexual charity Stonewall, commenting on the recent court case in which an anti-gay Christian couple lost the right to foster children

Tuesday 1st

Some people wearing camouflage uniforms and face-masks, with no insignia, dragged me out [of my prison cell], handcuffed me behind my back and pulled my arms so high my face was hitting the concrete floor,” he said. “They took me down a spiral staircase into a separate room and started pulling my arms up so high that my bones cracked, demanding that I promise to do whatever I was told to do by State Security officers. And they kept pulling my arms up until I said yes.

Ales Mikhalevich, a former presidential candidate who has been released from a KGB detention centre in Belarus where he was tortured after newly-elected president Alexander Lukashenko initiated a silencing campaign against his opposition

Wednesday 2nd

“This is a concerted campaign to slaughter every liberal, progressive and humanist voice in Pakistan. The time has come for the federal government and provincial governments to speak out and to take a strong stand against these murderers to save the very essence of Pakistan.”

Farahnaz Ispahani, an aide to Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari, after the assassination of another high profile anti-blasphemy laws politician, Shahbaz Bhatti, just weeks after the similar death of Punjab province governor Salmaan Taseer

Thursday 3rd

“This is the front line of the eastern part of Libya. We will stay here until we die.”

Ali Mohammed, one of thousands of rebel soldiers to defect from the Libyan army after Benghazi fell to the rebel protesters

Friday 4th

“He was trained to regard Germans as monsters, terrible people. But he soon realised they were exactly the same as everyone else. He hated war. War for him was a way of making a living. That was his job.

He could not care less about his birthday. He’s a celebrity now but that’s only because everyone else has died.”

Adrian Choules, the son of 110 year old Claude Choules who is now the last surviving veteran of the First World War

Saturday 5th

“When I first came here, I was young and fit and could run all day. Now I feel sick and weak a lot of the time. [If I lost my job] I would have to do this – mortar walls on a building site. On [a] building site, you must work eight hours, all at once, never stop. Now, when passenger come, I work, but no passenger, then I rest.”

Laxman Ran, a rickshaw driver in the Indian city of Calcutta; a profession which still continues despite the country’s attempts to resign the rickshaw to history

Leave a Reply

