The Three Stages of Truth?

The Connection?

A friend of mine sent me the link to this extraordinary film documentary about animal rights, which I saw for the first time today and felt compelled to share. Earthling’s publicity material states;

EARTHLINGS is an award-winning documentary film about the suffering of animals for food, fashion, pets, entertainment and medical research. Considered the most persuasive documentary ever made, EARTHLINGS is nicknamed “the Vegan maker” for its sensitive footage shot at animal shelters, pet stores, puppy mills, factory farms, slaughterhouses, the leather and fur trades, sporting events, circuses and research labs.

The film is narrated by Academy Award® nominee Joaquin Phoenix and features music by platinum-selling recording artist Moby. Initially ignored by distributors, today EARTHLINGS is considered the definitive animal rights film by organizations around the world. “Of all the films I have ever made, this is the one that gets people talking the most,” said Phoenix. “For every one person who sees EARTHLINGS, they will tell three.”

You can watch the full documentary for free at http://www.earthlings.com/.

I’m not going to write a full review of Earthlings, as there really is not a lot I can say. This is an extremely disturbing and incredibly powerful piece of filmmaking which admittedly takes a strong stomach to watch, but presents some very important issues which should be out in the open.

All the same, I wonder about the percentage of propaganda in Earthlings. There must be an opposite argument to this issue. I know the issues of animal cruelty and veganism are connected; but I get the feeling that it is being insinuated by the filmmakers that being a meat-eater means you’re automatically a supporter of animal cruelty. Clearly that’s not the case. As the film is quite obviously a film produced by vegans and starring a vegan – it’s not going to be a balanced discussion of the issue and shouldn’t be treated as one.

I’m not a vegan and have no intention of becoming one as a result of watching this film. Nevertheless, I would love to see answering arguments to this, and am wondering what other people think about it – propaganda, or no?

Photo credit: Screenshot from Earthlings.com

2 Comments on “The Three Stages of Truth?”

  1. dawnieq says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting on my Earthings post a couple of weeks ago. Since I was already a vegan when I watched Earthlings it didn’t influence me that way. Sometimes I need to be reminded why I made the choice to become vegan after being a vegetarian for 35 years. The switch hasn’t been without it’s stumbles so occasionally I need an eye opener to get me back on track. I have to agree with you that it is a film made by and starring vegans so it can’t help being biased. I feel like many of us often don’t think about the whole unseen process that brings a meal to the table. I think a lot of people don’t even recognize the atrocities of factory farming, you know…out of sight out of mind. To me the film could influence people away from eating meat or dairy or it could just educate them to the animal cruelty that exists. Similar to being aware that you may be buying products that are made in sweatshops. The better educated we are about where the stuff we consume comes from the more prepared we are to take a stand against inhumane treatment of people and animals.

    • Marie says:

      Oh I totally agree, and thanks for the comment 🙂 Though I’m not a vegan the documentary did shock me; whatever else people take away from it, they should be realising that the process right now is inherently, horribly wrong. If we all know about it, then we can do something about it. Though I would imagine any Jewish viewers would have been the most affected in that way.


Leave a Reply

