The Quotes of the Week IV

Sunday 23rd

“We have found that most other planets and solar systems are wildly different from our own. They are very hostile to life as we know it. The new information we are getting suggests we could effectively be alone in the universe. There are very few solar systems or planets like ours. It means it is highly unlikely there are any planets with intelligent life close enough for us to make contact.”

Dr Howard Smith, senior astrophysicist at Harvard University, who has claimed that contact with ‘little green men’ will never happen and we are totally alone in the universe

Monday 24th

“Vroom Vroom represents part of my independence, my freedom, my personal growth. This was the first car that I bought with the money I made from my early works. It was hard work, but the purchase was satisfying. I had obtained something I really wanted through my own effort. I did not depend on my parents any more, I was grown up.

I think that, over the years, social pressure makes us lose our innocence and excitement about the little things. We end up forgetting the child within. This sculpture represents the innocence and excitement about the little things that make us happy.”

Sculptor Lorenzo Quinn talks about his latest work – a vintage Fiat 500 being grasped by an enormous child’s hand, which is currently installed in central London’s Park Lane

Tuesday 25th

“This is not about spending more, it is about spending better.

There would actually be savings if people were helped to stay at home for longer.”

Care Services minister Paul Burstow speaks after findings that lack of support to live at home has forced 50,000 Alzheimer’s patients into care homes, at a cost of £71 million

Wednesday 26th

“Mr. Ritch caught up with the defendant and actually tapped him on the shoulder and the defendant turned around. He [Mr Ritch] said, “Look, I’m just trying to help you”. He held his hands up and that’s the point when he [Davies] stabbed him. This was not done because Lavern Ritch was a threat, it was done and the evidence will show that it was done because of the rage and hardness in Robert Davies’ heart.”

Bill Merz, prosecuting at the trial of American Robert Davies, who killed Gladiators star Lavern Ritch after Ritch stepped in to prevent a racist attack against a Mexican man in New Jersey

Thursday 27th

“I couldn’t believe it when he called me. It was wonderful seeing him again, we gelled straight away – like we had never been apart. He didn’t look any different. He still has black hair, even if mine has gone grey. Just seeing him again made me feel so much younger. It took me back 50 years. We laughed and laughed.

I had been so angry with him for so long after we divorced. At the time I never wanted to see him again. Pauline, our daughter, kept in touch with both of us obviously, but I didn’t speak to him. I destroyed all our wedding photos, but he kept his, he kept everything.

Now things are like they were when we first met, it was like we had never been apart. I don’t think we ever got over each other, I think true love does last forever.”

Elsie Harper, who has just re-married her ex-husband Leslie after divorcing him 57 years ago

Friday 28th

“In some senses, hydrogen is the perfect fuel. It has three times more energy than petrol per unit of weight, and when it burns, it produces nothing but water. Our new hydrogen storage materials offer real potential for running cars, planes and other vehicles that currently use hydrocarbons.”

Professor Stephen Bennington, lead scientist of the group who have developed a hydrogen-based fuel which will slash carbon emissions, cost 19p a litre and work in existing cars

Saturday 29th

“I want to be very clear in calling upon the Egyptian authorities to refrain from any violence against peaceful protestors. In the absence of these reforms, grievances have built up over time. When president Mubarak addressed the Egyptian people tonight, he pledged a better democracy and greater economic opportunity.

I just spoke to him after his speech and I told him he has a responsibility to give meaning to those words. To take concrete steps and actions that deliver on that promise. Violence will not address the grievances of the Egyptian people. Supressing ideas never succeeds in making them go away.”

US president Barack Obama, speaking about the recent political upheaval in Cairo, where clashes between soldiers and protestors have left 29 civilians dead and 1,000 injured

Leave a Reply

