The Gym Playlist In Progress

The Gym Playlist In Progress

So, I’m back at the gym (after quite a few more months off than I really should have taken). I am definitely the last person for whom you’d use the term ‘gym bunny’. I’m not stick thin (that’s why I’m there) and posers make me giggle.

I won’t bore you with tales of depleted energy and inevitable aches in muscles I didn’t even knew I had following my recent return to heavy exercise. After all, my resolution this year is to be more positive, right? So instead, I want to share one of my secret weapons, my most important survival tip for the gym.

It is simply this; invest in an mp3 player and fill it with as much music as you can lay your hands on.

It has been scientifically proven that music can reduce pain and discomfort. It logically follows that listening to music you enjoy during a workout will help to keep your energy levels up and your mood positive. If it matches your pace on cardio equipment such as the treadmill or exercise bike, all the better.

I recently bought a new mp3 player and, having spent an hour or two fruitlessly searching for other people’s recommendations, decided to post my own playlist up for others to find and hopefully help in adding to their own playlists. If that’s you, I’d love to hear about the music you rate!

Uninvited – Freemasons feat. Bailey Tzuke
Kids – MGMT
Doctor Beat – Mylo vs. Miami Sound Machine
Firestarter – The Prodigy
Breathe – The Prodigy
Voodoo People – The Prodigy
Fuel For My Fire – The Prodigy
Smack My B***h Up – The Prodigy
I’m So Excited – The Pointer Sisters
Jerk It Out – The Caesars
You! Me! Dancing! – Los Campesinos!
Disco Dancer – Parka
Entrance – ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION
Haruka Kanata – ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION
Jihei Tansaku – ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION
Rewrite – ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION
Abyss – KOTOKO
Beauty Up My Life – S.H.E
Goody Two Shoes – Adam Ant
Fascination – Alphabeat
I’m Still Standing – Elton John
Jungle Drum – Emiliana Torrini
Jump – Girls Aloud
We Are Family – Jump 5
My Life Would Suck Without You – Kelly Clarkson
Affirmation – Savage Garden
Diavolo in Me – Zucchero
Dude (Looks Like A Lady) – Aerosmith
Gay Bar – Electric Six
Thnks fr the Mmrs – Fall Out Boy
Lust For Life – Iggy Pop
Are You Gonna Be My Girl – Jet
Animals – Nickleback
Something In Your Mouth – Nickleback
Ready to Go – Republica
Let Me Entertain You – Robbie Williams
Bad Case of Loving You – Robert Palmer
We Built This City – Starship
Boys of Summer – The Ataris
Say Hey (I Love You) – Michael Franti
Baby Come Back – Pato Banton
Bodies – Drowning Pool
Not Fair – Lily Allen
Feel Good – Gorillaz
Standing in the Way of Control – Gossip
Always Where I Need To Be – The Kooks
Right Here Right Now – Fatboy Slim
The Rockafeller Skank – Fatboy Slim
Good Girls Go Bad – Cobra Starship
Brimful of Asha (Norman Cook mix) – Cornershop
Begin To Spin Me Round – Dannii Minogue vs. Dead or Alive
Sunchyme – Dario G
A Little Less Conversation – Elvis vs. JXL
Call On Me – Eric Prydz
RUN RUN RUN – HIGH and MIGHTY COLOR
HOT LIMIT – HIGH and MIGHTY COLOR
I Like The Way – Bodyrockers

2 Comments on “The Gym Playlist In Progress”

  1. I like a lot of songs you’ve listed but I’m a huge fan of the song Bodies by The Smashing Pumpkins. It has a ton of energy!


Leave a Reply

