The Hobbit, Gollum and Why I’m Excited

The Hobbit, Gollum and Why I'm Excited

…and if you’ve been keeping up with the news and gossip surrounding the long-awaited film adaptation of J. R. R. Tolkien’s beloved first book, you should be too!

It’s no secret that I am a huge, huge fan of all things Lord of the Rings; the original Lord of the Rings novels, the film adaptations directed by the amazing Peter Jackson… even the MMO The Lord of the Rings Online. However, my first adventures in the lands of Middle-earth began a long time ago. Like many readers before and since, they began with a strange little man called Bilbo.

My love affair with The Hobbit began, quite literally, when I was eight years old and hearing the story for the first time; sitting on the carpet of the school library, listening to my teacher read. I can still remember listening to the infamous chapter Riddles in the Dark and imagining what the creature Gollum looked like.

I wasn’t aware of the Ralph Bakshi animated films until a couple of years ago. So, the first time I came face to face with a Gollum who didn’t entirely reside in my head was the CGI-enhanced Andy Serkis. He was sneaking down a vertical cliff face towards the sleeping Frodo and Sam, murmuring “The thieves! The thieves! The dirty little thieves!”; and at that moment, the Gollum inside my head came out onto the screen and truly lived.

I knew that what Peter Jackson, his crew, the cast and the people at WETA had done was pure magic. After this, there was no question. If there was to be a full feature of The Hobbit, the team that conquered the so-called ‘unfilmable’ Lord of the Rings would be the ones to do it.

It’s been a long wait so far, hasn’t it? The time’s been filled with other things; the continuing Harry Potter saga, the coming of The Chronicles of Narnia to the silver screen. Peter Jackson’s other projects – King Kong and The Lovely Bones, though successful, didn’t distract from the film adaptation we really wanted to see.

It has been a very long wait… but all the waiting has done is make me more and more excited to see the end product. Each bit of news I’ve heard about the impending filming, even if it has been bad news (such as the actors’ boycott) has become good news in my eyes. Because it means it’s really going to happen. The fact that it’s going to happen with Andy Serkis involved, is, of course, the icing on one Mordor of a cake.

Leave a Reply

