The 50 Book Challenge

The 50 Book Challenge

Following on from the positivity of my last post, I’ve taken on two new challenges for this year; firstly, I’m going to give the Post a Day 2011 WordPress challenge a try, and secondly, I’m going to take up a challenge I found on a friend’s blog.

The idea is to read at least 50 books in one year. Given my hermit-come-packrat tendencies when it comes to books, I’m up for that! (It may even solve this ‘book waiting list’ problem I have so I can go out and buy more books! YAY!)

First, I wanted to see how many books I read this year, as far as it’s possible. I’ve been using a Facebook application to record the books I read for over a year now, and after a lot of wrangling with it yesterday I’ve managed to get it to give me a list of all the books I’ve read since I started using the app. Very usefully, it has neglected to record the dates and the order in which I read each book.

However, this is approximately my list from 2010 (in no particular order):

1. Unseen Academicals
Terry Pratchett
2. Legends & Superstitions of the County of Durham
William Brockie
3. I Shall Wear Midnight
Terry Pratchett
4. The Last Empress
Hannah Pakula
5. Tokyo Hostess
Clare Campbell
6. Anansi Boys
Neil Gaiman
7. The Graveyard Book
Neil Gaiman
8. The Bridge to Terabithia
Katherine Paterson
9. The Handmaid’s Tale
Margaret Atwood
10. Neverwhere
Neil Gaiman
11. The Time-traveller’s Guide to Medieval England
Ian Mortimer
12. Beyond the Blossoming Fields
Jun’Ichi Watanabe
13. The Folklore of Discworld
Terry Pratchett & Jacqueline Simpson
14. M Is for Magic
Neil Gaiman
15. Green River Daydreams
Liu Heng
16. Shades of Grey
Jasper Fforde
17. The Ghost’s Child
Sonya Hartnett
18. Breaking Dawn
Stephenie Meyer
19. Wives of the East Wind
Liu Hong
20. The Red Necklace
Sally Gardner
21. The Hobbit
J. R. R. Tolkien
22. The Magpie Bridge
Liu Hong
23. Miss Chopsticks
Xinran
24. Red Herrings And White Elephants
Albert Jack
25. The Last Empress
Anchee Min
26. The Rice Mother
Rani Manicka
27. MirrorMask
Neil Gaiman
28. Fragile Things
Neil Gaiman
29. Pirates! In an Adventure with Whaling
Gideon Defoe
30. Pirates! In an Adventure with Communists
Gideon Defoe
31. Strata
Terry Pratchett
32. Going Postal
Terry Pratchett
33. Hogfather
Terry Pratchett
34. A Hat Full of Sky
Terry Pratchett
35. The Wee Free Men
Terry Pratchett
36. The Queen’s Fool
Philippa Gregory
37. Emma
Jane Austen
38. Twilight
Stephenie Meyer
39. New Moon
Stephenie Meyer
40. Eclipse
Stephenie Meyer
41. Good Omens
Neil Gaiman
42. Monstrous Regiment
Terry Pratchett
43. Wintersmith
Terry Pratchett

There’s lots of happy memories in that list! I’m pleased with myself that I read so many in 2010, and confident that I’ll beat the target of 50 this year. Though perhaps I should’ve thought before inadvertently choosing the 948 page long Complete Illustrated Stories of Hans Christian Andersen as my first book (oops).

One Comment on “The 50 Book Challenge”

  1. […] I’ve taken up the challenge to read 50 books (or more!) in 2011, I thought it would be a good idea to share my thoughts about the books I’ve finished reading […]


Leave a Reply

