The Most Beautiful Word

The Most Beautiful Word

Yesterday, I discovered the most beautiful word in the English language.
No, it’s not from Shakespeare.

I know I started all this out in gloom and seriousness, but yegads, that is so far from how I feel right now. Yesterday, I was in one of those moments which you remember for the rest of your life and look back on wistfully. I guess you could describe it as ‘unparalleled joy’.

The most beautiful word in the English language is ‘remission’.

Yesterday I received some very good news. After 2 1/2 years of suffering, a friend of mine went into remission. The cancer that has plagued her life for so long is finally leaving her.

I have learned a lot of things from this person, and there’s so much I admire about her. She is strong, and generous enough to believe she couldn’t be so without her friends. She might not be Einstein; but she is wise, and modest enough to play down her successes. However, the best quality my friend possesses is her ability to love others more than herself. She has always done that, as long as I have known her; whatever trial she is going through, she would always rather listen to another and help them solve their problems, rather than confide in them her own. There is so much beauty in a soul like that, and yet, I don’t believe she ever considered herself beautiful.

She has fought and struggled so hard that I could never appreciate or understand what she has been through. But I am so grateful. Grateful for knowing her. Grateful that yesterday finally arrived. Grateful for the future which she has won for herself with her own two hands.

Yesterday is already a memory. I prayed that her months of hospital visits, chemotherapy, tears and pain would one day become only memories too. Sometimes I only dared to hope. It is the most wonderful feeling to know now that those prayers and that stubborn hope were, truly, worth it.

One Comment on “The Most Beautiful Word”

  1. Wendy aka Tigerlilly says:

    What a beautiful word!!


Leave a Reply

